• WisPolitics

2015-16 Legislature: Printable directory | Leadership rosters | New faces

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

 9:46 AM 

Vos, Barca announce inaugural events for Assembly

The Assembly will swear in its new members on Jan. 7 with the last 10 Assembly speakers invited to attend the ceremony.

“This will be a great way to honor the former speakers, Democratic and Republican,” said Speaker-elect Vos in a release.  “As we move into the second century in the legislature, it’s important that we celebrate the past and focus on working together for a better future.” 

A reception for Assembly members and their families will be held at the Wisconsin Historical Museum afterward.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

 5:15 PM 

WEAC, League of Conservation Voters made push for Larson as Senate Dem leader

Representatives of WEAC, the League of Conservation Voters and others called Dem senators ahead of Tuesday's leadership vote urging them to support Chris Larson, according to multiple sources and one lawmaker who received the calls.

Sen. John Lehman, D-Racine, downplayed the influence outside groups had on Tuesday's result in which Larson beat Jon Erpenbach, D-Middleton, in an 8-7 vote. Lehman said the input from his colleagues and Larson had greater weight on his ultimate decision to back the 32-year-old Milwaukee lawmaker.

Still, Lehman acknowledged it was unusual to have third parties lobby members ahead of a leadership vote.

"What Chris sold himself on was being involved in many other races, recruiting candidates, raising money and effectively helping people get elected, and that's what I want to do in the future. That's the big role of the leaders," Lehman said.

See more coverage here.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

 4:40 PM 

Jorgensen elected caucus chair, Zamarippa takes vice chair as rest of Assembly Dem leadership remains

While Assembly Minority Leader Peter Barca survived a challenge from Rep. Brett Hulsey, two leadership positions changed hands during the Dems caucus meeting Tuesday.

Rep. Andy Jorgensen, D-Ft. Atkinson, has been elected Assembly Democratic caucus chair over Rep. Fred Clark, D-Baraboo.

Rep. JoCasta Zamarippa of Milwaukee took the vice chair position after challenging current Caucus Vice Chair Penny Bernard-Schaber of Appleton.

Barca kept his leadership his seat after a last minute challenge from Hulsey, who characterized his bid as "a suicide mission" but decided to press ahead regardless.

Assistant Minority Leader Sandy Pasch was unanimously re-elected, as was Caucus Secretary Janis Ringhand and Sergeant-At-Arms Josh Zepnick.

 2:42 PM 

Senate Dems pick Milwaukee's Larson as minority leader

Senate Democrats today elected freshman Sen. Chris Larson of Milwaukee to serve as minority leader for the upcoming session.

"I am humbled by the confidence my fellow senators have in me by electing me their leader," Larson said in a press release. "Wisconsin voters spoke loud and clear on November 6. They want Democratic and Republican lawmakers to move the state forward with programs and policies that reflect our shared values. For the sake of Wisconsin's future, I encourage members of the Legislature to work together as Wisconsinites by casting off our partisan labels and setting aside any politically divisive agendas."

 2:38 PM 

Assembly Republicans select Vos as speaker

Assembly Republicans today unanimously picked Rochester's Robin Vos to serve as speaker.

“As speaker, my goal is to create a more efficient and effective state Assembly where the debate is vibrant but also relevant,” Vos said in a prepared statement. “I welcome a free-flow of ideas because I believe the best ideas are the ones reached together.”

Scott Suder of Abbotsford was a unanimous pick to return as majority leader.

“The upcoming session will provide opportunities for all of us to work together to do the people’s business," Suder said in a press release. "We can work in a bipartisan manner and not lose sight of the promises we made to voters.”

: See newer blog items : : See older blog items :

Quorum Call site feed

wispolitics.com Social News

Follow Us


WisPolitics coverage of news from the Wisconsin Legislature.

Editor: JR Ross
Reporters: Chris Thompson, David Wise

· Quorum Call site feed
· Quorum Call on Twitter


· InSession: Senate | Assembly
· Audio/video coverage
· Session calendar

· Bill database
· Lobbying information
· Notification service

· Download a printable directory
· Leadership rosters
· New faces in 2013
· Find your legislator
· Senate home pages
· Assembly home pages


· December 2009
· January 2010
· February 2010
· March 2010
· April 2010
· December 2010
· January 2011
· February 2011
· April 2011
· May 2011
· June 2011
· July 2011
· August 2011
· September 2011
· October 2011
· November 2011
· January 2012
· February 2012
· March 2012
· July 2012
· November 2012
· December 2012
· January 2013
· February 2013
· March 2013
· April 2013
· May 2013
· June 2013
· September 2013
· October 2013
· November 2013
· December 2013
· January 2014
· February 2014
· March 2014
· April 2014
· June 2014
· November 2014
· December 2014
· January 2015
· February 2015
· March 2015
· April 2015
· May 2015
· June 2015
· July 2015
· September 2015
· October 2015
· November 2015
· January 2016
· February 2016
· March 2016
· November 2016
· December 2016
· January 2017
· February 2017
Copyright ©2012 WisPolitics.com All rights reserved. | WisOpinion.com | WisBusiness.com  |  Website development by wisnet.com LLC  | Website design by Makin’ Hey Communications