• WisPolitics

2015-16 Legislature: Printable directory | Leadership rosters | New faces

Friday, July 20, 2012

 4:34 PM 

Senate Org approves office swaps; GOP leaders vote against moves

The Committee on Senate Organization has approved a series of room moves to reflect the new Democratic control of that house, though GOP leadership opposed the measure.

Senate Minority Leader Scott Fitzgerald said in a statement that while he supported the moves into new Senate President and Senate Majority Leader offices, that he voted to oppose the rest of the moves because  those only usually take place after November elections and usually stay in place for two years.

Sen. Glenn Grothman, R-West Bend, also opposed the moves, saying they were a waste of taxpayer money and there would still be moves after November, regardless of who controls the chamber.

" I will point out there will be another round of moves in November no matter the results of the election because Senators Coggs, Holperin and Zipperer are leaving the Senate," Grothman said in a statement.  "Everyone anticipated a change in the Majority Leader and President’s offices, but for Senator Hansen et al to ask for changes puts the Sergeant’s staff, as well as the legislators’ own staff, through two moves in four months.  This is discourteous at best and therefore I oppose the motion.” 

Other than the aforementioned swaps by leadership, some of the changes are as follows:

  • Sen. Lena Taylor, D-Milwaukee, the new co-chair of Joint Finance Committee, will swap with Sen. Alberta Darling, R-River Hills.
  • Sen. Dave Hansen, D-Green Bay, will take former Sen. Pam Galloway's office. Sen. Mary Lazich, R-New Berlin, will take Hansen's office. 
  • Sen. Chris Larson, D-Milwaukee, will take Lazich's old office. Sen. Frank Lasee, R-De Pere, will take Larson's old office.
  • Sen. Kathleen Vinehout, D-Alma, will take Lasee's office. Sen. Rich Zipperer, R-Pewaukee, will take Vinehout's office, though he will eventually resign his office on Aug. 5.
  • Sen. Rob Cowles, R-Green Bay, will take Zipperer's old office. Sen. Julie Lassa, D-Stevens Point, will take Cowles office. Sen. Jerry Petrowski, R-Marathon, will take Lassa's old office. 

-- By Jason Smathers

Comments: 0

Post a Comment

Back to Quorum Call main page

: See newer blog items : : See older blog items :

Quorum Call site feed

wispolitics.com Social News

Follow Us


WisPolitics coverage of news from the Wisconsin Legislature.

Editor: JR Ross
Reporters: Andy Szal, Jason Smathers

· Quorum Call site feed
· Quorum Call on Twitter


· InSession: Senate | Assembly
· Audio/video coverage
· Session calendar

· Bill database
· Lobbying information
· Notification service

· Download a printable directory
· Leadership rosters
· New faces in 2013
· Find your legislator
· Senate home pages
· Assembly home pages


· December 2009
· January 2010
· February 2010
· March 2010
· April 2010
· December 2010
· January 2011
· February 2011
· April 2011
· May 2011
· June 2011
· July 2011
· August 2011
· September 2011
· October 2011
· November 2011
· January 2012
· February 2012
· March 2012
· July 2012
· November 2012
· December 2012
· January 2013
· February 2013
· March 2013
· April 2013
· May 2013
· June 2013
· September 2013
· October 2013
· November 2013
· December 2013
· January 2014
· February 2014
· March 2014
· April 2014
· June 2014
· November 2014
· December 2014
· January 2015
· February 2015
· March 2015
Copyright ©2012 WisPolitics.com All rights reserved. | WisOpinion.com | WisBusiness.com  |  Website development by wisnet.com LLC  | Website design by Makin’ Hey Communications